Explaining a Special Place – Col du Galibier

This is one of the most beautiful, moving pieces I’ve ever read on WordPress. True, my beloved Tour de France figures in the story in a large part, but it’s so much deeper than that, and it touched my heart. I hope you enjoy readiing this as much as I did! Dookes definitely has a way with words…

Hogrider Dookes

In a post last week I talked about Col du Galibier in the high French Alps and how it is a place that is very special to me.

Then regular commenter on my posts, AGMA, posed the question;

“Why is it special?”

I started to write a reply for AGMA, then paused and thought that probably it would be a good idea to explain “why” to a broader audience.

We have to rewind the clock back about 50 years…

Young Dookes was exploring the darkest parts of his father’s workshop/garage. At the very back, almost hidden from view and next to the engine of an old BSA motorbike, young Dookes found a man’s bicycle. In the eyes of Young Dookes, this was a prize of great beauty for not only did it have racing style drop handlebars, but there on the rear wheel was a set of derailleur gears…

View original post 1,524 more words

2 thoughts on “Explaining a Special Place – Col du Galibier

  1. Pingback: Transfiguration | Aging Gracefully My Ass

Talk to me...

