V

big-apple

American Boomers, do you remember the old television show That Was The Week That Was? A 1960‘s precursor to the Saturday Night Live news segment, the show would take the news from the previous week and put a satirical, humorous spin on it. And back in the 60’s, there was a lot going on.

Like now.

But aside from the insanity, drama, joy and tragedy of our crazy world that has dominated the headlines in the past week, each one of us has our own personal story of the week’s insanity, drama, joy and tragedy.

At least that’s true for AGMA.

And for me, it’s been mostly joy. Immense joy.

I HAVE A GRANDDAUGHTER!!

My strong, future President of a granddaughter, V, made her appearance 8 days early on October 30th – much to the delight of her mother who was pretty much over feeling like a whale… Weighing in at a decent 7 lbs 7 ozs, she is a carbon copy of her 22 month old brother when he was a newborn. This bodes well for her because he’s a cutie patootie.

But then AGAM’s hardly unbiased in these things.

And for all you Cubs fans – a World Series observation…

My little V was born last Sunday in Chicago to a household 10 blocks away from Wrigley Field. On that very day, the Cubs got a desperately needed win over the Indians to stay alive in the Series. On Tuesday, the Cubs won again to even the Series. And of course, we all know what happened on Wednesday…

Cubs win, Cubs win, Cubs win!

Coincidence that the Cubs did nothing but win after V was born? AGMA doesn’t think so…

You can thank me later Cubs fans.

I get to meet V on Monday.  I can’t wait to make her acquaintance! And see her big brother again who charms the socks off of me.

In the meantime, AGMA has just a little task to accomplish between now and Monday.

I’m at 12,000 feet right now as I write this, winging my way to the city that never sleeps. The Big Apple. The jewel of the Empire State.  Home of Jerry Seinfeld.

New York City.

It’s been 17 years since I’ve been to New York City, and that was a quick 24 hour in and out to take my son, V’s daddy, on a college visit. The last time I spent more than a day in NYC was in 1976.

I’m betting things have changed since then.

But AGMA’s going to do it up right this time and visit all 5 Burroughs. The hard way.

God willin’ and the crick don’t rise, 49,999 of my closest friends and I will be running in the New York City Marathon on Sunday.

Pray for me…

Because I’m slow and in the last corral to take off, and we set our clocks back on Saturday night, if I finish, it will be 5:30 PMish and dark. The first wave of runners will have already finished, showered and had a meal even before I even start running.

WTF?

But that’s okay. I think it’s going to be one huge party, and AGMA’s always loved a party! And because I’m slow, I just get to enjoy it longer.

And on Monday morning, I’ll hobble onto a plane to meet the first of the next generation of strong women in my family, my sweet V.

And when history is made the next day, Tuesday, November 8, 2016, and a woman is elected President of the already great United States of America, you’ll ask, “Coincidence?”

I don’t think so…

25 thoughts on “V

  1. I thought I was busy at 65!! You are a gogo girl!! And a senior (?) one at that. Congratulations on the new granddaughter!! Sounds like a heart winner. I have no doubt that your granddaughter’s birth was the cause of the Cubs winning. She already won your heart and you haven’t even met her yet.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh Joyful…this is a bit too busy – even for AGMA! Holy cow! So I finished the marathon and less than 24 hours later was on a plane to Chicago. And I met V yesterday and you’re right – she has won my heart!! But my goodness, I’m pooped… 🙂

      Thanks you for your congrats and cheerleading!

      Like

  2. NOW you tell me! Had I known you would be in the area, I wouldn’t have made plans for tomorrow, but would instead have been hanging around the finish line very late in the day to enthusiastically cheer your accomplishment. I’ll do better next year.

    Congrats on having one of each– which is two more grandchildren than I have. Lucky you and yes, happiness and envy CAN coexist.

    Here’s hoping that V continues to bring us luck. Fingers, toes, legs, eyes–they are ALL crossed that we will be celebrating “bigly” on Wednesday. I’m practicing humming “hail to the Chief-ess”!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Oh Shelley….I like the way you are thinking!! V’s granddaddy (my DIL’s dad) is a HUGE Chief-ess supporter/mover & shaker, and was in the first row at a rally Hillary was at yesterday. Hmmm – I’m thinking (positively) that B & V may be invited to trick or treat at the White House one of these years! How cool would that be??

      And you are absolutely right – happiness and envy can co-exist!! I have felt that way many times for people I love – wishing it was me but feeling thrilled for them. It’s an interesting dynamic isn’t it? That seems like a wonderful topic for a post. Just sayin’….

      And OMG – I DID finish in the dark. But I did finish!! Did you hear about the 90+ WWII vet who finished in 11+ hours? Now THAT’s not aging gracefully and I love it!! I want to be like him when I grow up! And I promise, if I get in next year – and I’m going to try because it was AWESOME – I’ll give you a heads up!

      Thank you so much for your congrats!!

      Like

    • But I had boys (and a grandson), so I’m not sure what to do with a little girl…. You’re Cordelia’s mom – what do I do??? 😉

      Thanks for the congrats!! I did finish the marathon, but did NOT set any records other than for maybe the best AGMA on the course. Ha!

      Like

    • I was running on empty on Sunday!! And round about mile 24 for I was thinking, “What the hell am I doing out here??” It was 5th Ave. It was dark. And my left hamstring felt suspiciously like it wanted to cramp up… TMI right? But I finished. And I’m going to try to get in again next year. What’s wrong with me Andrew?

      And thanks for the congrats! I met her yesterday and she is a sweetie. As much as a newborn who only eats, sleeps and poops can be… But I see lots of potential there! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Talk to me...

