Granny AGMA’s confession

gp6

Dearest B-Man,

Hallelujah!

I finally get it! I get the whole grandparent thing!

Granny AGMA’s slow. Up until now, I was clueless.

Three of my grandparents had already passed by the time I was born. My sole grandparent – my father’s mother – was in her 70‘s, wracked with horrible rheumatoid arthritis and severe osteoporosis. In my memory, she looked like she was ancient.

Today, 75 is the new 55. But not back in the day.

She died when I was 6.

You dada and uncle really didn’t have grandparents either. Well they did. But they didn’t.

My father, your great grandfather, remarried a lovely woman named Louise after he divorced your great grandmother. Louise never had any children of her own, but she grew to love me as a daughter after I came to live with them in 1965.

Louise loved your dad and uncle too, but she wasn’t very maternal. She seemed a bit frightened of children. Besides, she was all about trying to keep my father happy. Not an easy task.

Great granddad was a narcissist. Like The Donald.

My dad “loved” your dada and uncle, but it was in his own, narcissistic way. Meaning that, he would never spend any time on them or with them if he had anything better to do. Which always seemed to be the case.

His great loss

I suspect my own mother would have been a superb grandma had she lived to meet her grandchildren…

Your grandpa’s (“Bumpa” as you call him!) parents had no clue how to parent or raise emotionally, mentally or spiritually healthy children. There was abuse on multiple levels. Bumpa managed to pull his life together and do quite well, but still bears the emotional scars. His siblings weren’t as fortunate.

When Bumpa and I realized his parents weren’t interested in being a part of your daddy and uncle’s life, we were relieved. They saw them once a year. Perfect.

They’re all gone now other than Bumpa’s mother, your great grandmother. Who’s never met you. And she hasn’t shown any interest in seeing you although we’ve offered to fly her to Chicago to visit.

Her great loss. And terribly sad.

When I found out 2+ years ago that I was going to be a grandma, I did all the right things. I cried for joy. I organized a baby shower for your mom. We traveled to Chicago to welcome you to the world.

But I still didn’t “get” the grandma thing.

Friends had been posting on Facebook for years how wonderful it was to be a grandparent; that it was the best thing ever.

gp3

Blah, bIah, blah…

I thought they were possibly exaggerating a little bit. Or a lot.

Then, you arrived. You were very cute, adorable and cuddly. But I wasn’t sure of the “best thing ever” part.

And your folks, being first time parents, went a little crazy after you were born. There were lots of rules around seeing you. Those were kind of tense times and led to some family discord.

That was no fun.

And I was still trying to riddle out what was so fabulous about being a grandparent other than cuddling said cute, adorable baby.

Fast forward to last April when we found out you were going to be a big brother. Very exciting but…

Now I really needed to find a Remedial Grand Parenting class. I didn’t know how to do this supposedly epic grandma thing with you. Now there was going to be another baby.

Then you started walking. And talking – sort of. And you could understand what we were saying. And slowly, very slowly, we started falling under your spell.

A glimmer of understanding of all those goofy grandparent Facebook memes appeared.

gp7

You totally sealed the deal last week.

I went to Chicago to help your mama out for a few days. Your sister’s fine, but your mom’s body isn’t taking to kindly to this pregnancy. She’s really, really tired.

And you aren’t. You’re a very active boy who has many interests.

Very.Active.

So I came to hang out with you so your mama could chill a bit before all hell breaks loose with a newborn in the house.

And you totally and completely enchanted me… So much so that I ignored my WordPress friends and my blog last week. WTF?

But I couldn’t take time out from our walks. It would take 20 minutes just to go to the end of the street. So many interesting things to pick up and study – dirt, leaves, rocks. I did discourage close examination of the dog dodo…

And I couldn’t take time out of our mornings together looking out the window for trucks and airplanes. Or playing with your toy trucks and Sammy.

And I absolutely couldn’t take time out of our afternoon visits to the park. You needed pushing on the swing and catching at the end of the slide. And chasing as you joyfully ran headlong into your next adventure.

So I get it now.

My job…no, my delight…is being able to slow down with you to help you discover the world. To talk with you about bugs and rocks and trees. To hang with you as you experience the joy of being alive. And to let you know how much you are loved. By me, your bumpa, your dada & mama, your uncle. And God.

Your mama and dada are busy and tired and stressed. I was there once so I totally get it. Lots of times they just don’t have the time or energy to go on 4 walks a day with you. And things are going to get crazy busy when your sister arrives in a few weeks.

But between all 4 of your grandparents – your mama’s parents adore you as well – you’ll still get plenty of time to discover the world. You lucky young man!

Yeah…I get it now.

I’ll love you forever; I’ll like you for always,

Granny AGMA

gp8

17 thoughts on “Granny AGMA’s confession

    • Thanks Shelley!! I feel the same way about my brothers grandchildren. I absolutely adore them and try to see them at least once a year (different cities a plane ride away…) The last couple of years I’ve been able to see them more than once. And they really like me too!

      Have fun with your great grand nieces!

      Like

  1. I have a cute seven month old grandson. He was born adorable and became more so. His parents live 90 minutes away but come this way or I go to their home about every 2-3 weeks. But I was beginning to wonder when I would be nuts over him. He recognizes me and smiles and I love him dearly. But he is still nursing and quite attached to his mom, understandably.
    I feel relieved after reading your post.
    Our time will come, I know now. Thank you!! You were missed.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I hope your son and DIL appreciate what you do with their children. We had the privilege of keeping our grand daughter every Friday and part of Saturday from the time she was 6 months old until she was 8 years. At first, all was well, but then her mother became very concerned that we were having too much influence on her. Of course we were! But my daughter became more and more paranoid, and finally took our grandchildren and moved far away. It was sad.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That IS sad! Oh my – I’m so sorry. But I know that she remembers all of the love and attention you gave her those 7 1/2 years, and that she will carry that for the rest of her life! How often do you get to see her now?

      And the jury is out as to what the future is going to bring with my son and DIL… I think because we live so far away and can’t visit all that often, hopefully we won’t wear out our welcome! At least I hope so…

      Like

  3. Don’t worry too much around visiting rules. After the second kid they quickly change from, “Here’s the book of rules,” to “sure, anything you want, just keep ’em until bed time.”

    and you need to starting shopping for toys that require batteries and make lots of noise. Part of a grandma’s job…

    Liked by 2 people

    • I brought a little toy emergency vehicle to the beach this summer with 4 different siren sounds and he LOVED it! When I went up to Chicago, my DIL asked, “You didn’t bring that truck that makes the sounds did you?” Not this time DIL, not this time… But who know what the future will bring? 😉

      Like

Talk to me...

