Matthew refugees welcome

skull

                                                      (photo from NASA Earth Science Office)

It’s one of those perfect autumn days today here in Atlanta.

It’s one of those days that you think (or at least AGMA does), “I’m really going to miss days like this when I’m dead.” Now I know that heaven is supposed to be glorious and amazing and beautiful, but it would be hard pressed to match a Georgia fall day like this.

I’m just sayin’…

It’s 75 degrees with 50% humidity (low for Atlanta) and a slight breeze. According to the Weather Channel. That often gets Atlanta’s weather wrong. Even though their studios are located in Atlanta.

Go figure.

The sun is shining, the sky is a beautiful turquoise and the leaves on the trees have an ever so slight tinge of color.

Perfect.

AGMA’s always loved autumn. It’s my favorite season. Hubs and I got married in October oh so many years ago. And I’m pretty sure it was another perfect fall day. Or I could just be making that up….

Who can remember back that far?

On days like this, it’s hard to believe that there are horrible things in this world. Like Aleppo. And the Paris bombings. And the _________ shootings (you fill in the blank.) And 20 precious 6 year olds killed at Sandy Hook. AGMA still grieves for those innocent little ones…. And ever increasing human trafficking. And 200 Nigerian school girls who have gone through the unimaginable at the hands of Boko Haram in the last 2 years. And the death of unarmed young and mentally ill black men at the hands of police. And the rise of Donald Trump. And creepy clowns threatening little kids.

Actually, those last two statements may be related…

It’s exhausting and overwhelming. The feeling of the lack of control is depressing and frustrating. And angering.

Maybe that’s why God gives us beautiful fall days.

It’s a respite. And a reminder that there is still beauty and perfection in the world; a world that seems, so much of the time, ugly and grossly flawed. On days like today, we have a little more time and space to reflect on where and how we fit into it all.

AGMA wonders if things are really any worse than they have been in the past or if the extra time afforded by the season of “slowing down” (code for getting older) just makes it seem that way. I remember my dad saying that the world was going to “Hell in a handbasket” back in the 60’s & 70’s.

Is it just that we’re getting older and angst is part of the job description?

And I wonder how different life would be without the blessing/curse of social media?

My head hurts.

And now a hurricane has ravaged an already fragile, crippled Haiti, battered Cuba and Jamaica, and is heading directly towards the Southeastern US coast. My favorite coast…

Can’t we catch a break?

I was going to name my youngest son Matthew.  I’m glad I didn’t…

So to all of you faithful AGMA readers who are in the path of Hurricane Matthew, be safe. Please leave your homes if there is an evacuation order. Riding it out is for the young and restless. And clueless.

You have an open invite to stay with me in Atlanta until the storm passes. Whatever storm that might be…

Mi casa su casa.

The weather is great here.

23 thoughts on “Matthew refugees welcome

  1. FAbulous post, we have lived in Florida, we have lived in the Caribbean, we have been through a Cat 4 hurricane, it’s not fun. My post today was wishing everyone safety, how can we write about anything else when so many are fearing for their lives in especially as the storm churns slowly up through the Bahamas.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks much Ilona!! So nearly two weeks later (yikes!) I’m hoping everybody is getting things back to normal in the areas that were hardest hit – especially those victims of the NC flooding.

      And it’s another one of those days here in Atlanta. High today supposed to be 87. WTF?? It’s October 19th for Pete’s sake! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • So Matthew has passed, but the other storms continue… Aleppo, Mosul, the US election… And storms within. That balance thing is a bitch sometimes!

      And here I sit in the same coffee shop and it’s another splendid day. A day to take a deep breath and gather strength and, finally, after two weeks, do some writing!

      Thanks for your very insightful comment Forkin!

      Like

  2. It is a beautiful October day here too. I spent some time on the front porch, drinking it all in. With such beauty, it is hard to picture the hand basket and creek, but I know it’s all out there. Mores the pain.

    Liked by 1 person

    • We are so blessed with the lives we live… Sometimes I feel guilty. I feel so insulated and powerless to affect any of the ugliness. Maybe it’s time to go back into therapy… 😉

      And, by the way, it’s another beautiful October day here!

      Like

  3. Great post, wonderful thoughts all of them. And thanks for the invite to your home. We’re in the direct eye of the storm, at least as it approaches Florida and goes northward. Thankfully I don’t think/hope Matthew will stay here long… he seems to have other fish to poach.

    Like

  4. Yes to everything you said! It was a gorgeous fall day here in New York. I was lucky that I took the day off for appointments, which I drove to with the car radio on, listening to the news as I crawled through traffic. So much sadness out there. But your kind thoughts to those in Matthew’s path are beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

    • OMG – hopefully the revelations of last Friday put the possibility of a flight to Canada to rest! I am still stunned that people support that monster, especially religious conservatives! I know what you’re thinking… “Why don’t you tell us how you really feel AGMA?” Ha!

      Like

    • Awesome! But I hope the “next time” is not anytime soon – that was a scary hurricane!

      And yes – I’ve thought of the possibility that this is the hand basket! But as long as there are cute kitten videos on YouTube, I don’t think so… Ha!

      Like

Talk to me...

