She Divorced Me Because I Left Dishes by the Sink

This is a change for AGMA. I don’t normally reblog posts. But this one affected me so profoundly yesterday that I wanted to share it. I was in tears when I finished it which for this crusty, ol’ AGMA, is saying something. Clearly Matt has hit a nerve with many out there based on the 2000+ comments. What do you think?

Must Be This Tall To Ride

(Image/jerrywilliamsmedia.com) (Image/jerrywilliamsmedia.com)

It seems so unreasonable when you put it that way: My wife left me because sometimes I leave dishes by the sink.

It makes her seem ridiculous; and makes me seem like a victim of unfair expectations.

We like to point fingers at other things to explain why something went wrong, like when Biff Tannen crashed George McFly’s car and spilled beer on his clothes, but it was all George’s fault for not telling him the car had a blind spot.

This bad thing happened because of this, that, and the other thing. Not because of anything I did!

Sometimes I leave used drinking glasses by the kitchen sink, just inches away from the dishwasher.

It isn’t a big deal to me now. It wasn’t a big deal to me when I was married. But it WAS a big deal to her.

Every time she’d walk into the kitchen…

View original post 1,748 more words

11 thoughts on “She Divorced Me Because I Left Dishes by the Sink

    • As he says, the glass was just a metaphor for what was going on. The tricky thing is, and I think he learned this lesson the hard way, that men and women have very different ways of defining respect. It’s the Mars and Venus thing you know? His post went viral on Facebook and he’s had over 2.3 million views. Definitely struck a nerve…

      Liked by 1 person

      • It did strike a nerve. Likely for the reason you say, different ways of defining respect and a mutual misunderstanding of it with an inability to find common ground. Also I think (based on a few comments I read) it stuck a nerve because some people missed the point that it was a metaphor and thought the spilt was based on an actual glass in the sink.

        That it went so viral is an interesting commentary on the subject. Check his blog out today, he’s posted a follow up to this.

        I suspect we’ll hear more.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Whoa…I could get lost in those 2000 comments…it speaks to a major issue, the lack of communication. His dish habits were no doubt just the tip of that proverbial iceberg, but I doubt that his wife expressed how/why this was so important to her. That which seems so trivial….is often not ! Nice share, AGMA. ☺

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I just read his follow-up post and he said this post has had 2.3 million views because it went viral on Facebook! Crazy…

      I seriously doubt that his wife even knew why it was so important to her. It just bugged the crap out of her more and more each time it happened. And even if she did and was able to verbalize it (a very self-actualized thing to do by the way) it, he still would have blown her off because it wasn’t a big deal to him.

      Until somebody truly wants to understand and makes it priority, they will never understand.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Totally dense. It was mind blowing how many people (mostly guys) totally did not get it. My unmarried son being one… I posted his to my FB page and he read it (‘cuz he doesn’t know about AGMA!) He said on the phone last night that he get’s that it was a metaphor, but that “clearly” there were fundamental problems with their relationship and they were not well suited and didn’t have good communication skills. He totally missed the point. I told him I’d love to sit down and talk with him about it soon. That’s code for me wanted to shake some sense into him! 🙂

      Like

Talk to me...

