Holiday cray cray

kiss

So I got back from my trip nearly two weeks ago. The good news is that I didn’t get sick from the “sky contagion”. Very good news that the juicy cough beast was beaten into submission by healthy doses of vitamin C.

The bad news is that AGMA really didn’t think this “take a two week vacation at Thanksgiving” thing through very well.

I celebrate Christmas and love the holiday season. But I struggle with getting everything done for the holidays even when I don’t go away.

So take two weeks away from that prep time and you have total AGMA insanity. And no AGMA posts for two weeks.

What??

Between two sets of out of town visitors, work, catching up from vacation, and starting to run again, I’ve been frazzled. And pooped. I never really got a chance to get over my jet lag.

Yeah – I want some cheese with that whine…

It’s all wonderful stuff. But to somebody who likes to go full-on for the holidays, it’s been a bit frustrating.

But I’ve decided that I’m not going to make myself any more crazy than I already am. I’m going to enjoy Christmas this year. I’m not going to try to make up for the lost two weeks.

I decided not to send Christmas cards out this year.

This is major. I think I’ve only skipped sending Christmas cards once in my entire adult life. I’m getting the DT’s just thinking about it. I bought the stamps in October.

But in this day and age of social media, it’s fairly easy to skip the old school, snail mail holiday greetings. All of my Facebook friends already know how incredibly fabulous the AGMA life is from my many informative and entertaining posts and pictures.

Not.

And of course, there’s the Chinese Christmas card glitter conspiracy that I wrote about last year… So now I can personally delay Chinese world domination by at least a year. You can read that sick and twisted post here.

Oh, I’ll probably eventually send out cards to my non-social media friends. Yes Virginia, there are people who are not on Facebook, Twitter & Instagram. And the hundreds of other sites/apps that I know nothing about…

But I’ll sent it out in AGMA time and not based on how close it is to December 25th. New Years cards maybe. Or January greetings. With no glitter.

This is all to say that I’m sorry for the missing AGMA’s post last week. And for responding so very late to some of your comments. Writing AGMA is one of my personal joys and something I truly look forward to every week. And I am pretty sure I have, hands down, the most amazing followers of any blog out there!

So thank you so much for your friendship, caring and laughter this last year!  It means more than you will ever know.

And no matter what holiday tradition you follow, I wish for each one of you the thing that we, as part of the human family, want and need the most… To love and be loved in return.  All year long. All life long.

Oh, and to laugh too!

A big holiday smakaroo to all of you!  I hope it doesn’t leave a mark on your collar…

24 thoughts on “Holiday cray cray

    • You’re so sweet! But since I only post once a week I figure somewhere in the week I can squeeze some writing in. Heck, I managed to post when I was on my trip even. But not in the past two weeks… So I spent three, count em’ three, hours at my fav coffee shop answering comments on my last two posts and writing this one. I feel complete! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! And I loved you’re Solstice post Dookes! Other than German and Eastern European, I have a small bit of the Celt in me as well (the Uglows were allegedly from Cornwall!) Maybe that’s why I’ve been to the Newgrange Tomb in Ireland four time?? I also love the Hill of Tara…

      Like

    • Agreed! But I wish I had a fire to put my feet up in front of… We have one of those “kill you in 30 minutes” vent free gas fireplaces, but it’s never worked since we moved in 3 years ago. Just as well – the carbon monoxide detector probably wouldn’t go off!

      Liked by 1 person

    • JaneyDoe, I totally respect those who chose not to expose themselves (in a virtual sense) to the whole world digitally! I’d “disconnect” if I wasn’t so terribly nosey… Hope you had a wonderful holiday season and a hap, hap, happy New Year celebration!

      Liked by 1 person

    • I LOVE Christmas cookie baking and think that may have been the problem with December. I didn’t make any cookies! I made some in November and froze them. Best batch of these I’ve ever made – they got rave reviews when I thawed and served them in December. But I didn’t bake any at all in Dec. I think you’ve put me onto something… Thanks for the good wishes and hope you had a lovely New Years celebration Van!

      Liked by 1 person

Talk to me...

