Confessions of a Former Ubertasker

Image

I used to be productive.  I had a professional job in IT, school-aged, active children, aging parents who needed help, a house and yard, and volunteer positions in my kid’s school, the community and my church.  Oh, and a husband.  All at the same time.  And I got it done. No nanny, no cleaning service, no smartphones or apps to coordinate it all.  But I got it done.

Remember (if you are of a certain age…) the 1970’s commercial for a perfume call Enjoli?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_Q0P94wyBYk

Yeah – that’s how I rolled in the 80’s and 90’s.  Jack of all trades, master of none, but in my own way, I was awesome.  I got it done. And, most of the time, in style and with a smile.  Okay – some of the time.

But now something is wrong.  Terribly, horribly, awfully wrong.

My kids are now grown and living successful lives of their own.  My parents passed away in the early 2000’s.  I no longer have a “real” job – I’m on hiatus remember?  The community and school volunteer positions have long been filled by other parents who were themselves in high school when I was volunteering.  I work couple of hours at my new church in my new city each week, but that’s about it.

Based on my past performance of successfully doing six things at once, you’d think that by this point I should have learned three languages, hiked the Appalachian trail twice, gotten another Master’s degree or two (maybe a PhD), started a tech company and become a 50 state marathon runner.  And still had time left over to master the art of the French soufflé and blog five days a week.

But that’s not how things are now.

If my day starts out with three thank you notes to write (so old school…), a prescription receipt to submit to the insurance company, a couple of loads of laundry to do, two bills to pay, blog posts from some of my favorite bloggers to read and a hotel reservation to book, I start stressing.  Too much to do.  And it’s very likely I won’t get it done that day.  Any of it.  I might play on Facebook for a while, answer a few emails, run out for coffee, start a blog post (not finishing it mind you) and buy a new running visor.

Like Scarlett O’Hara said, “I’ll think about it tomorrow.”  Fiddle dee dee…

How could I have fallen so far so fast and become so unproductive?

In the past two months I’ve restarted my little one person business and am working about ten hours a week.  Now I’m having a hard to finding time to go to the grocery store.

Really??

This past weekend I went to a three day conference that started on Friday.  On top of that, I had to run on Saturday morning and go to church Sunday morning to meet a commitment.  By Sunday evening I was saying (to quote Sheldon Cooper on “The Big Bang Theory”), “What fresh hell is this?”

How does one go from being ubertasker to being a slug?  I’ve been trying to figure it out…

In the past, was it a matter of just gritting my teeth and mentally forcing myself to go non-stop to get it all done?  It didn’t feel like that at the time.  Because everything seemed so “important” back in the day, does everything now feel trivial in comparison and just not worth very much effort?  Am I finally exhausted after all those years of non-stop activity and drama – a sort of PTSD response?  Did I burned out my adrenals and am now incapable of producing the cortisol my body needs for coping with stress?  Beginnings of dementia maybe?  Oh – I really hope not…  Have I gotten lazy?  Or is it just the simple fact that I was younger, and had more stamina and energy?

I don’t have an answer.  I wish I did.

I bought some bacon a few months ago.  I finally had to put it in the freezer because I just couldn’t get around to “frying it up in a pan.”

Maybe I should see if they are still selling Enjoli…

13 thoughts on “Confessions of a Former Ubertasker

  1. I think it’s called energy and my experience is that it diminishes over time. I used to think it was infinite, but as I approached my senior citizenship, I realized that, while enthusiasm can remain the same, energy is apparently finite. *sigh*

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Haha great post. Entertaining personal experience I think a lot of people can relate to. I’m in the uber-tasked phase right now but I can already feel myself ready to slug it down a little. You earned your slow slug time enjoy it!

    Like

  3. Too funny. I used to accomplish 5-6 major things a day; now it might be one, may-y-be two …. The only thing I’m willing to “uber” now is stopping to smell the roses. Everything else can wait till tomorrow.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I think you forgot something: you’re blogging! Lots of non-bloggers think we’re nuts: “why are you doing this..etc.?” My response: How much different is this from crocheting, baking a beautiful dessert that gets eaten up under half an hr., etc.?

    Like

  5. And how about: I’ll take a shower – tomorrow!!??
    I remember when I was in my twenties, still living at home in NJ. My father and I would get up at 5:30am, leave the house, take the train to Hoboken, take a ferry to Wall St area, walk from the ferry for several blocks to Broadway to get to work. Now I think – how could we do all that? Now it’s an ordeal to get dressed & out of the house to go shopping. But my husband says it’s very difficult to get me “out of the house & on my way, but once I’m out I don’t want to come home!”
    I also believe that after we get older & retired, we need some kind of exercise to compensate for aging. But I don’t do it!! 🙂

    Like

Talk to me...

