Pb to Au

“It’s all good!”  I don’t know the origin of this much beloved, contemporary phrase, but I use it all the time.  Is this a bad thing?  How can it be a bad thing if “it’s all good?”  I find this confusing.

Urban Dictionary has 16 definitions – and I use the term “definition” loosely – for “it’s all good.”  I really haven’t been exposed to Urban Dictionary very much.   Quite interesting.  Uses the “F” word a lot.

But among the interesting takes on “It’s all good” – not using the “F” word” – is this:

“ “Platitude that covers so many emotions and situations that it says little; its only real meaning is that the speaker is trying to rise above whatever problem exists, without expressing their underlying negative emotions.  (They might be angry, sad, upset, frustrated, hurt, disappointed, etc.)  Often used in a passive-aggressive way.  Rarely, used compassionately for someone else, trying to make them feel better.  A favorite of inarticulate teens; fills in the gaps between: like, dude, dudette, whatever, so, I dunno, hey, etc.

Ariel: “I’m breaking up with you.”

Campbell: “Whatever. It’s all good.” ”

I resent the fact that I am being referred to as an inarticulate teen because – yeah – that’s how I use it.  Exactly how I use it.  And I’m not inarticulate.  Or a teen.  Oh, so not a teen…

But because I don’t use “dude”, “dudette”, “so”, “I dunno”, and “hey”, should I create a new definition in Urban Dictionary?  I DO use ‘like’ and “whatever”.   I mean, like, doesn’t everybody?  Can I split hairs like that?  Whatever…

When I say “it’s all good”, it is definitely NOT all good.  And I think that’s how most people use it, right?  I mean, is it really good for you?

I decided not to go running tomorrow because it’s supposed to rain – maybe – and I’m drinking too much wine tonight.  “It’s all good!”

My husband & I bought our plane tickets to go 1000 miles to visit our son, but he discovered a conflict for the weekend so we actually can’t come to visit.  “It’s all good!

I ate a whole box of Girl Scout Thin Mint Cookies today.  “It’s all good!”

The cat just threw up all over the carpet on the steps.  “it’s all good!”

Sorry I didn’t remember your birthday.  “It’s all good!”

I really thought my life would turn out so much differently… better, more fulfilling.  “It’s all good!”

Bruce Lee is credited with saying, “As you think it, so shall you become.”  Maybe that’s why I say “it’s all good.”  I want it to be all good when it’s not.  Desperately.

Mental alchemy.  Hmmm…It might actually be easier to turn lead into gold…

3 thoughts on “Pb to Au

  1. I find myself saying “no worries,” a lot. That’s sort of my “it’s all good.” For example, when someone at work does something stupid, and when what I really want to say is, “you asshole, you totally ruined this project I’ve been working on night and day, 24×7, for the past two weeks,” it generally comes out “no worries.”

    Like

  2. love, love this blog . Your posts literally take thoughts from way back in my brain and organize them brilliantly. Looking forward to reading more.

    and r/e your fresh press : [congrats!!]

    So little of what we do or say makes sense.
    I’m still upset over the phrase ” it is what it is”

    I mean – really ?
    could there be a more pointless sentence??

    It is what it is …. i suppose… It’s so not all good .

    Like

    • I find that when I say “it is what it is”, it’s a way of giving up of sorts which is, as you say, “not good at all.” I need to work on finding some new words that speak more positivity, life and energy. Thanks for your comments and lovely compliments!

      Like

Talk to me...

