“My name is Sally O’Malley and I’m…”

Image

Wait for it…

Sally O’Malley is my hero – still kicking and stretching and kicking at fifty.  It was a sad day when Molly Shannon left SNL and took Sally with her.  I miss Sally’s unique zest for life and her fabulous red jumpsuit.

BIG birthday for me in a few days.  60.  Epic.  I joke around with people, “I don’t how this happened!”  [obligatory smile], but the brutal and mystifying truth is I really DON’T know how this happened.

Just a few years ago I was part of the all powerful, forever young Baby Boomers right?  The Pepsi generation.  Sex, love, and rock and roll.  Tuned in and turned on.  A hot babe in hot pants on the prowl for a hot time.  Cue snare drum strut…

Now, apparently out of the blue, the Regal Cinemas ticket lady is giving me the senior discount (she didn’t even ASK me how old I was!), I have no clue who the guy is on the cover of the People Sexiest Man Alive issue and I’m still hot, but not in the good way.

What a mystery – the passage of time.  Small, subtle changes like the wearing down of bedrock by a small, but relentless stream.  Day to day you don’t notice any changes but come back years later and it’s a whole different story.  The Grand Canyon, you know?

Graying hair, acid reflux, sore joints, jowls (ick!), techno/pop impaired.  Bummer man…

As a young goddess, I rolled my eyes when “older folks” nattered on about how fast their lives went by, their regret for not doing more, seeing more, being more – blah, blah, blah.  Boring…  Of course my life was going to be different – I would have it all under control.

How’d that work out for you girlfriend?

So now what?  Like bedrock, change. Adjust. Transform.  No food after 7 PM, ice knees, hormone therapy, smile at the Regal Cinemas lady, Google Adam Levine.  Run some half-marathons, start a blog, road trips to visit old friends and distant lands, tweet with professional cyclists.  Blah, blah, blah.

And of course I will KICK and STRECH and KICK!

8 thoughts on ““My name is Sally O’Malley and I’m…”

    • Wow – thanks for the amazing compliment! Yup – I’m pure cl-ASS alright!

      We went to Oz last year for a few weeks and it was not nearly long enough. We loved it! Such a beautiful, diverse country with incredibly friendly people and GREAT coffee! Who knew (about the coffee that is…) There’s just so much to see – we barely scratched the surface. Next time we want to go west. And north. And to Tasmania. And to the center. I guess we’d better save our $$. I just don’t like those ill tempered Eastern Brown snakes. Or any of the other snakes. Which all seem to be poisonous. Ick.

      Thanks again Kev for visiting AGMA and the kind words, and PLEASE stop by again!

      Liked by 1 person

Talk to me...

