What do a blog and a hairball have in common?

Image

My son doesn’t like the word “tapas”.  I don’t like the word “blog”.  On top of that, I found out I’m doing it all wrong.

The volume of blog coaching resources is staggering.  My head hurts.  From what I’ve read, I shouldn’t even have breathed the word blog until I had three themes, thirty days worth of “stuff” already written, and gathered abundant images and links.  Yikes!  My first post took about thirty minutes to create and publish. Bet you could tell.

The issue is….  I’m inclined to analysis paralysis.  If I get sucked into the black hole of the “how” right now, nothing will escape. In a perfect world, possibly nothing should escape.

But getting a blog to blast off is kinda like deciding to have kids.  You can’t think about it too much or you’ll never get off the patch!

“What, me blog?” I ask myself.

My history is in the practical, pragmatic and humble Mid-west of the USA.  My take on people writing blogs was, who the hell cares?  Seemed self-indulgent and egotistical.  Oops. Turns out that much of what I’ve read is beautiful, intelligent, honest and thought provoking.  Damn.

For you who have read either of my now two historic posts – this is the third – it’s probably become painfully clear that:

  1. I was a science major and
  2. I’m writing this for me.  Self-indulgence and ego gone wild right?

The joy of living and silliness and observation and wisdom and aging.  Gracefully.  My ass!

Wresting with nonsensical ramblings to condense them to small, digestible kibbles and bits is a challenge.  Poets do it so amazingly well!  So many ideas, thoughts and feelings packed into the economy of a few words.  “There was a young man from Nantucket…..”

The answer is…..my cats.  “Blog” is the sound that precedes the appearance of a hairball at our house.  Ack.

2 thoughts on “What do a blog and a hairball have in common?

  1. I have good news and bad news. Mostly good news, in fact. First, I love the name of your blog in combination with that picture at the top. Very, very clever. Second, I have read all three of your posts and I like the way you write. You’re very engaging, very natural, and very witty. Serious kudos.

    So are you ready for the bad news? It’s a bit nit picky, I will admit, but here goes. Please don’t hate me. The title of this post does not use proper grammar. It should be “What DO a blog and a hairball have in common?” As a reference, see http://data.grammarbook.com/blog/verbs/what-does-or-what-do/

    Sorry, I don’t mean to be an ass, but I think you are so good that you ought to know. If I thought you blog was a piece of crap, I wouldn’t have bothered. That’s worth something right? RIGHT?

    Like

    • Changed! Thank you, thank you for the kudos AND the bad news! I was serious when I said I was a science major! I’m terrible at grammar and knew that it would be a weakness with (in,of??) anything I write. Barely made C’s in English. It became a self-fulfilling prophecy by high school I think. Oh well…. If you should happen to read any future posts with my little donkey and see any grammatical errors, PLEASE let me know!

      I really do appreciate your feedback! And yeah for no crap! This is all just such a mysterious world to me… It’s going to be quite a journey.

      Thank you again and I promise to check out the grammarbook link!

      Like

Talk to me...

